top of page
  • Writer's pictureReg Miles

The Ballad of Sydenham Snow

Hello everyone. I do hope you are all still keeping well as the pandemic lockdown slowly lifts.

I have been busy writing and recording, so especially for you here is my latest recording, The Ballad of Sydenham Snow. This will be included on my third album which hopefully will be completed in 2021.

To give you some background on the song, The Ballad of Sydenham Snow is a true story.


The 24th of April 2021 marks the 200th anniversary of the fatal shooting of 24 year old Midshipman Sydenham Snow on the beach at Herne Bay by smugglers of the North Kent Gang.


Midshipman Snow was part of the Costal Blockade Service and based in Herne Bay.

He commanded a number of men, and their job was to catch and apprehend smugglers.


Snow was fatally wounded on the night in question and died three days later of his wounds.

He is burried in the Herne church of Saint Martins.


Herne Bay being the town where I live, I was quite intrigued by this story.

There are a number of varying accounts of this incident, but I have researched the eye witness accounts detailed in the newspapers of the time, and that was the basis of the song.


I hope you enjoy this commemoration of a brave young man.






11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page